Bonus Post: More Reasons Why I Enjoy Urban Planning

Over the past few days I’ve looked back on my list and found it missing a few key points:

I also enjoy urban planning because;

– it serves as a creative outlet as well as critical thinking practice. What better way to feed the need than with statistics at your side?

– it is a way to help communities thrive and therefore help strangers, friends, and neighbors thrive as well! Many people go into caregiving services with the ultimate open-ended (and therefore unachievable…) goal of ‘helping people.’ With urban planning, there’s potential to help hundreds of thousands of people with a single decision. How cool is that?! Way better than 7 years in school cleaning bedpans if you ask me…

– the professions is inconsistent. Planning has largely shifted mindsets in the last 20 years away from the strip malls and towards a more diverse community through more transportation options, mixed land use, and labeling the grid street pattern inefficient in many cases. All of this ‘feeds the need’ as well.

– when the need is consistent, so are the range of difficulty, specialty, and location of opportunities. I love this aspect of planning. I hope to help smaller communities like my own in the end, but on the way, I can’t wait to see where the path takes me! My favorite choices thus far have been entry-level positions in Denver, CO, Honolulu, HI, Chicago, MI, and Driggs, ID.

Thank You!

About Aascot Holt

Staff News Writer for the Easterner. Urban and Regional Planning Major. Senior. Has fingers in all proverbial pies.

Leave a Reply

